tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:/posts Walking/photographing Adelaide 2024-04-05T23:48:41Z Gary Sauer-Thompson tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/2099571 2024-03-28T07:28:03Z 2024-04-05T23:48:41Z the blog as supplement

As there is  now a walking Adelaide website with its own blog  this  old,  low-key blog became  superfluous. It  served its purpose in kickstarting the website into existence, and as a result,  it hasn't been updated in 2 years. Originally this low-fi blog was envisioned as a  way to start making  a photobook of urban photography  of Adelaide.  I had in mind  that the images and text would be  the raw material for  the photo book.  However, as I left living in Adelaide for the coast and   the money ran out for a book, I decided to build the website. The next step in the project is a  photobook.  

My reason for  reviving the old  blog is that  I've returned to the city in the sense of I've started regularly walking the city again.  I have also linked up to,  and joined,  the Australian Walking Artists group, since  urban photography has been historically  based on the medium of walking the city.  Adelaide 's CBD has changed a lot in the last 8 years. 

 This revived  blog  will  include the odd photo that doesn't make it to the official website. Toss away photos, odd balls,  rejects, poor mages. fragments or  scraps,  if you like. Ones  that stand  outside the website and are an accessory  (the parergon) to the main work (the  ergon). This blog would then exist on the margins of the website.  

The photos and text, which  are degraded supplements to the original image that  lies buried in the darkness of the archive on a computer's hard drive, are deemed to have little value in the neo-liberal image economy.   They are toss-a-ways, as is this blog, since blogs have been shunted aside in the culture of social media.   

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1846707 2022-06-25T08:25:06Z 2022-06-26T10:08:18Z urbanscapes

I took advantage of a recent dental appointment in Adelaide's  CBD   to walk the city  and to try and make some photographic  urbanscapes. I started out from my base in the Adelaide Central Market where I'd  had my  morning coffee and went nto the Pitt Street carpark to check out Franklin St:   

I thought that I'd  return to some of my  old locations in the various  car parks  that I'd visited and explored when  I  lived in the city prior to 2015 and this was a good a way as any to gain a quick perspective on  how the CBD had changed, if at all, between 2015 and 2022. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1831019 2022-05-19T05:23:17Z 2022-06-25T08:15:56Z Thresholds: Gawler Place

I briefly explored in and around  Gawler Place  in the  hour or so that I had between meetings in Adelaide's CBD  on Wednesday (18th May).  This  exploration  focused less  on the empty shops or offices themselves,  and more on the urban  space of the street that included the empty offices.

More specifically,  it was the interface  space between the inside of the building and the street outside the building along with its various reflections in the glass windows of the buildings. What could be called thresholds. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1828533 2022-05-11T02:31:55Z 2022-05-19T06:02:27Z Edgelands, Port Adelaide

I've realized whilst  constructing  the  Walking Adelaide demo website on the Square Space  publishing platform that this  is going to take me quite some time. Realistically,  I will need all of the six months allowed by the demo to construct  a skeleton of the project that would be ready to go public.

 Whilst  working on  building the demo website  I remembered  that I'd  walked around more than Adelaide's car-centric  CBD. I  had spent a lot of time walking the edgelands in, and around,  the Port Adelaide precinct in the 1980s. This  example is from the archives:

The picture was made on the Grand Trunkway  near  the Torrens Island power station.  We are looking north east  towards the Adelaide hills. What appeared to be wetlands  was being used as, or had become,  an industrial wasteland.  It is a  good example of edgelands in 1980s  industrial Adelaide. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1825112 2022-04-30T23:36:02Z 2022-05-01T00:58:23Z post-Covid Adelaide

The recent brute force attacks and hacks to two of my Wordpress blogs --Thoughtfactory and Mallee Routes --- have caused  me  to start to  look at Square Space for re-building the Walking Adelaide project. Rebuilding because this project  has basically outgrown Posthaven's  simple  blog format.  It  needs galleries, blog and text and  so rather than building another Wordpress site I am considering Square Space. There is more on this at the Thoughtfactory blog.

The galleries, blog and text would be designed to give the project more depth. 

Post-Covid Adelaide is different to the one that I lived and photographed in  during the second decade of the 21st century. As noted in earlier posts  there are fewer people on the streets of the CBD. Whilst walking around the northern part of the CBD  last Tuesday (26th April)  I noticed that  the only section of the city that had lots of people moving around was the north-west end of the CBD,  and these were students at the Uni of SA

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1818688 2022-04-14T03:00:22Z 2022-04-15T06:08:57Z lunchtime in Adelaide

I still find it a depressing experience walking Adelaide's CBD post-Covid. Many of the lunch time cafe's and coffee shops continue to remain closed.  Will they ever open again? Will the pandemic shape Adelaide's future? What  might urban life look like on the other side of the Covid-19 pandemic?  How long before the CBD starts to be full of people? 

Judging from the lack of people in the city it appears that  many of the office  workers are still working from home. The density of the people in the city is certainly much less than in pre-Covid times and about half those walking the streets are wearing masks.  It was such a marked difference to Melbourne where hardly anyone wore face masks on the street. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1775347 2021-12-25T04:33:44Z 2022-04-15T05:36:09Z Covid-19: a public mood

I spent Wednesday in the week before Xmas walking the city and  taking photo  for several hours. I had parked the car near the Adelaide parklands and walked to the Adelaide Central Market.   After  a coffee in the  Central Market  I spent the next 4-5 hours  walking around  the north western side of the CBD,  starting at the nearby  Post Office Lane.  


Then I wandered and photographed along  "Westpac Lane", which runs off Topham Mall, returning to old haunts to get my bearings. Some people were wearing masks on the street, most were using the QR codes on their phones and many  were keeping a safe distance. Though South Australia's closed borders had  meant that it was a zero Covid state, people were going about their business without the twinkle, shimmer and buzz of the approaching festive season.  


South Australia had just opened its state borders, the  Omicron variant was starting to circulate through Adelaide,   and the number of daily infections were starting to rapidly rise. The  public mood was sombre and wary.  Grim even.  This is such a contrast to this time in  2020, when  looked as if the near future would be one of hope: we had survived 2020, vaccinations were just around the corner and with that, the promise of no more lockdowns and a return to open borders.  Fortress Australia would be history.  In late December 2021 the Omicron variant of the virus is  everywhere, the federal government continues to be  missing in action, and the capacity of the  health system is being eroded with staff stand downs and resignations, ambulance ramping  and a blowout in waiting lists.     
]]> Gary Sauer-Thompson tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1763022 2021-11-24T04:52:01Z 2021-12-03T01:07:49Z photography + the modernist city

I have been  going through my digital archives  circa 2013 /2014 in order to start to  look for, and select,  material for the proposed Adelaide book. This  builds on  The Bowden Archives and Industrial Modernity book  which I am currently completing. Sadly, there was  less visual material in the 2013  photographic archive  than I remembered or hoped for. I was disappointed,   but I did come  across this mugshot poster by Peter Drews.  

The photos in the Adelaide  photo book are all post 2000 and they include a mix of film and digital as I started using a digital camera early in  2007. It's early days as I  haven't gone through the 2007-2012  archives,  the book has no name,  and I haven't decided how it will be published.   I have started writing an introduction based on reworking some text  left over from the Bowden book.

The argument in the introduction is that  photography was substantively associated with  the modernist city in the 20th century.   There was  a  historical relationship between urban spaces, urban representations and the photographic/cinematic form. Photography  was part of the experience of modernity, especially that on the  flâneur, or citystroller, a figure of modernity characterised by their detached observations of urban life, being simultaneously of the city, and yet distanced from it by their spectatorial gaze.

 Film -- ie., photography and cinema --- were more than being  new mediums.   They are central to how modernity was experienced and understood  by a broad public. Photography and cinema  enabled the  relationship between modernity's shocks, surprises, distractions and overwhelming stimuli and its corollary, drift, the experience of vacancy, the sensation of empty moments, to be understood and negotiated. They helped to  shape modernity's urban visual culture.

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1745658 2021-10-09T05:37:08Z 2021-10-11T01:04:11Z Covid's empty shops

I have tentatively made  a return to the project of walking the city of Adelaide with a hand held camera. This project  has been tentatively put on the backburner for some time.  Walking the city with a large format camera  and  a heavy tripod  has definitely been placed on the back burner.     

This recent experience  persuaded me to think about  picking it up.  I briefly looked at the archives. I  decided  that it would make a good  break from sitting in front of the computer working on the text for The Bowden Archives and Industrial Modernity  book.  Then I realized that the Walking Adelaide  project, which is about urban psychogeography,  could be interpreted  as building upon  this body of photographs from the 1980s, which form the third section of The Bowden Archives.   There are a lot of photos  from the time when we lived in the CBD, but I am unsure how to conceptually organise them into a book project. That is why this project has been on the back burner with only a blog as its public face.  

So off I went on a tentative foray to Adelaide's  CBD last Thursday (7th October). Below is  a cafe in Hindmarsh Square next to the old central office of SA Health. This cafe used to be quite buzzy: 

There were a lot of people sitting around in the square as it was a warm sunny spring day.  I would have thought this  mass would have kept the cafe open,  given that  there is  currently no Covid-19 community transmission in South Australia.  

I spend a couple of hours walking the CBD -- just a playful, drifting aimlessly around (dérive ) in good Situationist fashion. The city was very quiet even though I was walking  between 11am and 1 pm -- ie., around lunch time.  Many of the cafes had gone, most of the restaurants in the Rundle St East strip were closed, and there were many empty spaces for rent in the CBD.  Some  of the fashion shops had gone and there was only the odd customer  in the ones that were open.  These are strange times compared to even this time.  

]]> Gary Sauer-Thompson tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1737287 2021-09-17T23:39:13Z 2021-09-22T09:00:32Z Post Office Lane

Recently I  wandered through some of my film archives  for the Adelaide part of the  Bowden Archives and Other Marginalia project. I  was using it as a way to take a break from the grind of substantially reworking  the text for this Adelaide/Port Adelaide part of the book.  I am finding the reworking of the text  for each section  hard going,  as the early drafts of the  texts  have little coherence by way  of an argument.  It is a humbling experience.   

Whilst exploring the archives  I came across some b+w photos that I made for the Walking Adelaide project. I had completely  forgotten about these photos. These street views were usually photographed in colour and I'd forgotten  that  on occasions I was also photographing them in b + w at the same time. 

An  example is  this picture of Post Office Lane,  which  runs between Franklin and Waymouth Streets. I was standing in  Post Office Lane and the photo would have been made early in the morning. 

At the time the photo was made  I was photographing the  empty streets in the CBD.  My conception of Adelaide then  was that its street life was pretty minimal. The time period is roughly a decade ago when I was living in the CBD. 

]]> Gary Sauer-Thompson tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1712290 2021-07-11T01:51:14Z 2021-07-13T01:29:00Z old and new

I finally had some time to spend a few hours wandering around,  and photographing in,  the CBD last week. The CBD is rapidly changing from when I used  to live there.   

The few hours of  photographic drifting was between  seeing the Marek brothers  exhibition --- Dušan and Voitre Marek: Surrealists at sea -- at the South Australian Art Gallery and  receiving the 1st AstraZeneca vaccination at my GP clinic.   The Morrison Federal Govt has been very slack in acquiring and  rolling out the vaccine,  and my GP clinic has only been receiving very  limited doses per week. Sadly, exaggerated claims, spin and outright lies have covered over  the stuff up re the vaccine supply and roll out.   

Back to the exhibition.  There was a deep resistance to the foreign, the European, and modernism in   postwar Adelaide and  the migrant artists in the European diaspora were consigned to obscurity. They represent by-ways, irrelevancies, alternative pathways – all leading to dead ends in the central narrative of Australian art history. For instance, Sasha Grishin's recent Australian Art: A History  does not mention the Marek brothers,  despite their influence on the early paintings of Jeffrey Smart. 

The Surrealist at Sea  exhibition finally  recovers, and recognizes,  some of the forgotten modernism in Adelaide after the 1945. An example of this forgetting is Patrick McCaughey's  recent Strange Country: Why Australia Painting Matters, which  ignores Surrealism in Australia,  and doesn't mention the Marek brothers. McCaughey's text is  both Melbourne-centric and ignores how some modernists, such as the Marek brothers  worked across several artistic mediums and not just in the medium of painting. In the Marek brothers case it was painting, sculpture, prints, film,  photography and jewellery. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1705075 2021-06-19T10:51:09Z 2021-06-26T10:15:49Z archive: urban textures

I have started to walk around  photographing Adelaide's CBD after an absence of six years or so.The city has  become a  very different one during the negative consequences of the Covid-19 pandemic. I realized that, in contrast, the pandemic has not substantially altered the way the retirees  living on the coast  in Victor Harbor and other coastal towns. The retirees go about their lives in a  similar way to what they were doing  in  pre-pandemic days.  They  can't travel overseas like they used to, or visit family interstate as easily as they once could.    

I also decided to revisit my photographic  archives as I am now quite  distant from the photographs I made when I was living in the CBD.  I can look at them as photos in themselves, as I cannot longer remember the experiences of that  photographic  moment.  I came across this abstract image of peeling bark in the Adelaide Parklands. It was made  whilst I was on a poodlewalk in Veal Gardens:

Walking through Veal Gardens was an integral part of one kind of  poodlewalk in the southern parklands.  For the poodles it was all about the possums in the trees.     

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1703188 2021-06-14T09:08:41Z 2021-06-19T10:35:01Z South Road: An experiment 1

I have often thought about walking along Adelaide's South Rd in the late afternoon taking photos of this urban stretch. I drive along this road  every time I go to and from Adelaide to Encounter Bay.   It looks interesting with all the different signs, architecture and colours. It's all mixed up, chaotic  jumble. 

However, South Rd is Adelaide's  main north south corridor and at peak hour it is  jammed with cars in the late afternoon. It is noisey and full of fumes,  and so I have  backed off walking along it. Breathing all those fumes  would not be  good for one's health.  Still, I find photographing South Rd in the late afternoon winter light intriguing.  

I  tried an experiment recently: --taking photos through  a car window. The opportunity arose  when we were returning from Blinman after being on a camel trek from Blinman to Lake Frome, as I was  sitting  in the back seat  and Suzanne was driving towards the Southern Expressway.   


I wound the  back window on the left  side of the car down. The basic concept was simple: to take a photo when the car stopped in traffic. It is unlike the Conceptual artists of the 1960s. They preconceived a conceptual project that they  then carries out with photographs. However,  photography was only useful or interesting to them insofar as it was instrumental in conveying or recording their ideas. These artists describe the photographs themselves as either brute information or uninflected documentation. The  1960s conceptual tradition  held photography as a specific medium  with its  rich history and formal conventions  at arm’s length. 
]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1689507 2021-05-11T08:56:25Z 2021-06-07T01:30:48Z windows onto

This photo comes from when wandered  in   Rundle Mall in September,  2011.This was a time when I was still living in the CBD and so it easy for me to walk the city in Adelaide learning how we perceive the city,  how we imagine it, how we experience it.  The photos of  shop windows below are very different to the drone's aerial view of Rundle Mall; an aerial view  which has become pervasive in documentaries filmed outdoors.   

I was being a flaneur wandering from shop window to shop window, drifting  amongst the shoppers and office workers who were  going about their business in a very determined and focused  manner.  I was just drifting through the shopping precinct looking for something to photograph; drifting not hunting. The photo is different from Google's Street view which unfolds on the screen under our fingers. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1601106 2020-10-06T03:28:19Z 2020-10-07T08:26:57Z walking Bowden

I was able to walk around Bowden making some photos when I was  in Adelaide last week. I had several hours whilst I was waiting for Kayla to be clipped.  I quickly realised that  the  Bowden/Brompton that I lived in  during the 1980s has well and truely gone.  

 This old industrial /working class suburb is undergoing extensive urban renewal and redevelopment.  The factories and cottages have all gone--replaced by apartments in Bowden and townhouses in Brompton.  

I spend some time walking around the new redevelopment in Bowden--it is high density urban infill with a heritage precinct on the land of the old Brompton Gasworks. Bowden is envisioned as a vibrant, inner city destination. 

The empty land opposite where I used to live in Gibson Street is now Emu  Park whilst the Stobie poles have mosaics.  The boundary in Gibson St has gone, as has the house where I had a studio.   Conroys Small Goods is still there.  

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1575703 2020-07-21T01:28:19Z 2021-06-06T10:07:01Z Re-development of the Central Market precinct

The response to the  decline of automotive and manufacturing activity and employment in Adelaide has been  redevelopment to ensure a transition to  an  information and knowledge based economy.   Adelaide,  as  a middle ranking city in Australia, is lagging behind Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra, Brisbane and Perth  in becoming a knowledge city. Adelaide  struggles to develop the human capital (knowledge workers)  to underpin the knowledge economy and the infrastructure to utilise that human capital to create economic value. Melbourne is probably the key city  here. 

One sign of the  process of  change in Adelaide to becoming a  post-industrial city can be seen  in the number of boutique hotels being built in the city.This  is considered to be part of the 'revitalisation' index.      

The large background building under construction  is the Indigo Hotel in Market Street looking across Gouger St.  The Indigo  brand  is owned by IHG hotelier, which is  set to open in 2020.  It is marketed as adding to, and participating in  the vibrant atmosphere of the Central Market precinct. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1573478 2020-07-15T00:46:19Z 2020-07-28T04:22:05Z Adelaide Central Market precinct (walkable urbanism)

 Up until 2014-15 Suzanne and I   lived in Sturt St a couple of blocks from the Adelaide Central Market in Adelaide's  CBD.  The Central Market  was our shopping centre and we would do the weekly shop early on a Saturday morning around 7am after we had walked with the poodles (seen as significant others).  We would walk down to the market precinct  with a shopping trolley, have a coffee at Cibo's in Gouger St, do the shopping, then walk  back to the town house, unpack the shopping, then have breakfast. We would be back home around 8.30-9 am.

We walked to most places in the CBD (GP's,  gym,  hairdresser,  gallery openings,  etc ). This convenience was one of the attractions of inner city living. I understood walking  to be a counter to the car's domination of  the city with its  traffic noise and fumes, congestion,  the urban grime and the heat during the summer.   Our  car would  sit in the garage during the week,  as it was  mostly used for  travelling to places outside the inner city,  or to go to Victor Harbor on the  weekends.    Now, at Victor Harbor,  we have 2 cars and we have to travel in the car to several shops to  do the weekly shopping.  

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1570333 2020-07-07T13:10:14Z 2020-07-16T02:00:49Z street art

During the last few days I have been going through the archives looking for material for the forthcoming online Walking/Photography exhibition at Encounters Gallery. Whilst doing so I  came across some  photos of street art in Adelaide, South Australia that I had made around  2011 whilst I was walking  the city. 

I was living in the city at the time and my daily walks with the poodles would be around the CBD and the parklands. These walks would be meanderings--to do with exploration, a way of accommodating myself, of feeling at home. It was a way I got to know the city. Walking  into dead ends,  or  reluctantly retracing  my  steps,  didn't matter to me  because this was part of  the process of  exploration.  

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1481886 2019-11-25T06:53:01Z 2019-11-26T00:32:43Z Adelaide: an urban heat island

The skyline of 1970s modernist Adelaide from the top floor of the  Wakefield St  car park. We are  looking west towards Victoria Square.

Little has changed in this part of Adelaide since I  left living in  Sturt St in 2014 to move to Encounter Bay on the southern Fleurieu Peninsula.  The only change is the  hotel  on Whitmore Square-- the dark building in  the left  background. 

Summer in the CBD is  very hot due to the way surfaces like asphalt trap heat even as cars and buildings exude it. When a city is markedly warmer than  its surrounding rural areas, it is called an urban heat island.   Adelaide is one of the worst in Australia and it can be stressful, if not dangerous, to be outside  during a heatwave with 40+ degrees temperatures.  With  climate heating, the impact of higher temperatures will become more evident in the CBD. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1435173 2019-07-21T01:18:26Z 2019-08-12T08:36:44Z old signs + the new urbanism

One result from walking with the poodles around Adelaide's  CBD  is that my 'walking Adelaide' usually  involves wandering down the  various laneways and the  back alleys as well as into the  various carparks. In doing so I occasionally  stumble across an interesting image,  or even two,  in a few of  these back alleys. 

An example from January 2019: 

Usually these  signs/images  are on the walls of an  alt-Adelaide  (the seedy underside of Adelaide),  and they have been there for many a year. They are off the main pedestrian thoroughfares,   and so they are been forgotten and unseen.   So they slowly decay over time until there is a major urban development, which its usually a hotel, a block of student apartments or an office block.  

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1424564 2019-06-26T00:52:09Z 2019-07-21T06:03:28Z Adelaide modern

Prior to mid twenthieth century  modernism Adelaide was a planned city of red brick and sandstone within a self-contained rectilinear grid   encircled by parks and green space, never to be built upon,  with its discrete zoning of dwelling, work, transportation and recreation.   It was  Colin Hassell and John Morphett  who  rejected the established classical/gothic revival architectural order in early 20th century Adelaide. 

The modernist ethos was to make a modern world, to sweep away the old and, out of chaos, build stability. Concrete was the  stuff of dreams of a progressive, dynamic cosmopolitanism.  Adelaide did not experience the modernist  Brutalist style of building  deployed to satisfy the urgent demand for cost-effective post-war housing on a mass scale that was  frequently associated with socialist utopian ideals, and dreams of collective living. 

One of the themes that I explored off and on when I was living in Adelaide's CBD was the modernist architecture from the 1960s and 1970s. These pictures are of the backs of those  overlooked "form follows function" buildings along  Pirie St which  survived the mindless razing of so much of Adelaide's built heritage from the 1960s to 1980s: 

 Many of the modernist  buildings that are gathered together in the Victoria Square precinct are of the 1970s butalist  genre, such as the Department for Education's headquarters on Flinders Street and  Wakefield House opposite St Francis Xavier's Cathedral. Whilst photographing these kind of buildings I realised the  importance of light to architecture and how it can transform a building completely, both inside and out. This is especially the case with the roughly textured béton brut  buildings.

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1423685 2019-06-24T05:44:24Z 2019-06-24T09:25:59Z West Terrace Cemetery

When we  lived in Adelaide's CBD in the first decade and half of the 21st century one of my  favourite afternoon poodlewalks was  in Adelaide's  west parklands, especially  Park 23 (G.S. Kingston Park or  Wirrarninthi) with its sculpture trail  plus  the heritage listed West Terrace Cemetery. Wirraninthi used to be called Wirranendi,  and over the years that I was living in the CBD I witnessed its  extensive replanting with trees, shrubs, grasses and the ecological  rehabilitation  of the  stormwater wetlands. 

We--the two poodles and me--  would spend many an hour wandering around and exploring the cemetery in the late afternoon.  It was safe territory.   The poodles could explore the  fenced grounds whilst  I could take photos. I just had to keep an eye out  for the cyclists riding through the grounds and for  the occasional graveyard  visitor. I usually went to the  forgotten, rundown  areas, which I found more to be more interesting than the newer, and more  flashy Italian/Greek  grave stones.  I thought that the latter were excessive--over way the top.  

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1418927 2019-06-11T01:18:04Z 2019-06-12T04:37:58Z Adelaide's empty shops

It could well  be the case that with the disappearance of the Holden  car plant at Elizabeth,  Adelaide is in danger of being  a distressed city with its unemployment, run-down buildings, an inequality with  its impoverishment  part of the population,  an underperforming public school system, declining living standards,  and a limited skill base due to young people leaving to find work in Sydney or Melbourne.  

This long and uneven process of de-industrialization has resulted in crisis management by the South Australian state government; one that   aims to prevent further  urban decline in the context of post-Fordist capitalism. However, Adelaide struggles compared to Melbourne or Sydney, as the latter  have weathered industrial decline far better than Adelaide, due to  these two larger cities having benefited  more from globalisation.  

It is true that a faltering Adelaide  has begun the process of  adapt and respond to economic change.in the form of   re-invention--of slowly  transforming  into becoming a post-industrial city. This is a transition  from producing and providing goods to one that mainly provides  services. In a post-industrial society, technology, information, and services are more important than manufacturing actual goods.  This, it is argued,  is the path to recovery. 

The subsidised casino, convention centre and sports stadium  are designed to encourage urban development, give Adelaide a competitive edge in the competition between Australia's cities,   and  a new image as an attractive city in contrast to the rusting industrial image.   Adelaide brands itself as a destination  that seeks to attract visitors and a creative class of new residents in the CBD.  

What I  do find  disturbing  is that there are still a large number of empty shops in the CBD. The above picture is of an  empty shop is in the western part of Hindley St, which is in the northwestern area of Adelaide's  CBD. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1412896 2019-05-25T13:11:59Z 2019-06-04T08:20:28Z Austral Stores building

Slowly, ever so slowly, I am returning to working on the Adelaide book project after couple of years.  We  left  living in Adelaide's CBD about   3 years or so ago, and shifted to living on the southern Fleurieu Peninsula coast. Most of my daily photography on the poodlewalks  now happens along  the coast, whereas when we lived in Adelaide,  the daily photography emerged from walking the CBD with the poodles.   

Adelaide's  CBD has changed since 2016.   What is noticeable to me as a visitor about the  new development in the CBD  is the increase in both the high rise apartments and the coffee shops/cafes.  Adelaide is becoming post-industrial. 

Occasional day trips to Adelaide are all that I can  do these days, and this particular trip  was designed to  pick up the photography from where I had left off 3 years ago.  This photo was made on a day trip to Adelaide when  I was able to spend some time wandering around the  CBD as a flaneur.  The above picture was taken from a car park  behind the back of The Austral Stores building in Hindley St.

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1326969 2018-09-29T00:21:58Z 2018-10-10T00:11:15Z Port River Estuary

 I have come across more pictures in  the archives  from my photographic sessions  in and around Port Adelaide in 2011: 

I  made this picture whilst I was  wandering around some edge lands along side the Port River estuary. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1316789 2018-08-31T01:33:41Z 2018-08-31T01:50:38Z Port Adelaide

I have been going through my archives and realized that the images that I made in and round Port Adelaide do form part of the Adelaide book. The book is more than the images of the CBD of Adelaide. For some reason I  had kept these two areas of Adelaide  separate when I was photographing. 

The Port is intrinsically connected to the CBD as it was, and still is,   the terminal or exit point for South Australia's exports.  Historically  the exports were loaded onto ships at Port Adelaide. Today, the  goods continue to be railed to the Port but they but they are  now exported in containers through  the container terminal in Outer Harbor.

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1311684 2018-08-14T02:19:05Z 2018-08-18T02:48:30Z Elizabeth after Holden

This picture was made whilst I was on a recent visit to Elizabeth for the opening of Eric Algra's photographic exhibition This is Our Town.   Elizabeth is a town that is struggling to come to grips with the  closure of General Motors  Holden car plant in October 2017; an event that   ended more than a century of car manufacturing in Australia. 

The recent  Holden commemorative  mural on  the wall of  the shopping centre ---Elizabeth City Centre--remembers the past as the town confronts the fallout  from  the 12,000 job losses in the northern suburbs from  the  ripple effect in the supply chain of the  component suppliers, and  the  range of logistics companies as they close down. 

The Holden plant closure represents  the end of  the old style nation building centred around industrialisation and manufacturing.  Elizabeth was a  planned community with  a utopian vision for how modern life based around  steady job and money, happy workers,  orderly streets,  stable families and a pleasant place to live.  It was a car city that championed the car. It was a city going places. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1310408 2018-08-09T00:08:35Z 2018-08-09T00:30:36Z people in the city

When I used to poodlewalk around Adelaide's CBD when I  lived in Sturt St (2005-2015) the people in the city outside of the office hours.  were few and far between. The CBD was noticeable for the empty streets on the weekends -the doughnut city I called it. An alternative name could have been zombie town as the  past cast a very long shadow over the city.  

This started to change just before we left in 2015  to live on the southern coast  of the Fleurieu Peninsula. Small bars were opening, more people were living in apartments,  people were on the street outside of business hours and the laneways from the central market to the railway station were being developed

This is a significant change:  a transformation from  Adelaide being like a country town to Adelaide having an urban life. I notice the difference when I walk around the city  with a camera 3 years later. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1309192 2018-08-05T05:31:04Z 2018-08-18T02:43:34Z Hindley Street, Adelaide

Hindley Street is  the  historically grungy street in Adelaide's CBD with little in the way of modernist Adelaide architecture.  Historically,  it has been the  nightlife entertainment centre of a suburban and industrial Adelaide.  Today the street consists of  yiros outlets, shisha venues, convenience stores,  massage parlours and pubs.

It is in need  of a bit more diversity to overcome the tacky look of urban impoverishment. This is an example of the historical grunge:

Despite the  recent emergence of a  laneways and street culture in Adelaide, Hindley Street  still has an image problem from the perspective of the city council.  It is a counter image to the offical brand of the city.  

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson
tag:adelaide-book.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1275838 2018-04-23T00:13:58Z 2019-06-12T02:30:14Z empty shops

The empty retail shops in the CBD of Adelaide are quite noticeable when  I walk around  the city on my visits from Encounter Bay these days.  I interpret them as one  of the signs of the difficult economic times associated with Adelaide's  slow transition  from being an industrial to a post-industrial city.  This is still a city undergoing de-industrialization,  with a stagnant population,  high poverty and unemployment rates and increased homelessness.  

I accept that I cannot  now photograph the CBD as I used to when I lived in the city and I walked the standard poodles  in the early morning and late afternoon.   As the low key commute  involves an hours drive to Adelaide  from Encounter Bay on the southern Fleurieu Peninsula coast,  so I have to accept whatever light there is  when  I walk and photograph the city during the day. 

]]>
Gary Sauer-Thompson