urbanscapes

I took advantage of a recent dental appointment in Adelaide's  CBD   to walk the city  and to try and make some photographic  urbanscapes. I started out from my base in the Adelaide Central Market where I'd  had my  morning coffee and went nto the Pitt Street carpark to check out Franklin St:   

I thought that I'd  return to some of my  old locations in the various  car parks  that I'd visited and explored when  I  lived in the city prior to 2015 and this was a good a way as any to gain a quick perspective on  how the CBD had changed, if at all, between 2015 and 2022. 

I was aware that the Covid-19 pandemic in 2019-20 had a big  impact on  the  CBD, especially with respect to the closure of small businesses, such as the cafe's and restaurants; or  the empty offices due to people continuing to work from home.  But what of the architecture in the way of the construction of new buildings in this period? 

The new buildings are  there. The plain,  functionalist glass office towers (modernist?) are situated in a streetscape of 19th century buildings, some of which  are  heritage listed.   So it wasn't just all high rise apartments that had been built in this period as I'd initially  thought.  Adelaide's CBD  was undergoing rapid change.

Whilst photographing  the urbanscapes I kept on thinking how low  the arts or culture  were valued in our society. Art seemed to be only valued if it was a creative industry that provided jobs, growth  and profit.  The creative kind of photography  about walking Adelaide was not a creative industry: it was just me  doing it myself and not as a business working for a client.   This photography wasn't even entrepreneurial or innovative  (the neo-liberal understanding of creative) apart from the Walking Adelaide  website on Square Space that is currently being  constructed.  So it had no value. The best that would be said was that it was a hobby which  as a form of self-expression.  was good because it kept me active, mentally alert  and engaged with everyday life.  

This flaw with this approach  to art is that it doesn't engage with this kind of photography image  as works of art are about something, and that works of art accordingly have  sensuously embodied meaning. This photography is a kind of critical or reflective inquiry about the city with the photographic image embodying  meaning about Adelaide.  This means  that this photography  has  significance beyond individual self-expression.  

This reflective aesthetics with its roots in Hegel's Lectures on Aesthetics is an   inquiry approach by an  art as  sense-making that arises from  living in our  pervasive culture of modern reflexivity in late modernity. This  culture inaugurates a shift in both how the artist themselves understands the function of artwork, and how the audience of the artwork understand the function of artist and artwork. What aesthetic experience now consists of is no longer pure sensuous enjoyment or free play of imagination under an indeterminate telos; rather, this form of experience is now fundamentally reflective and the artist conveys powerful social meaning through aesthetic content.my casein