Introduction: my Adelaide

I decided to start a book on Adelaide, my hometown,  because I  had became tired of just taking lots of photos and posting them to Flickr,  to  Rhizomes1, my photoblog, or to Facebook.  I needed to shift from being an enthusiast taking snap shots  to working on a project that required some thinking about what I was doing. I thought, why not produce a DIY Blurb book?  

How would I organize the material?  I though that the Posterous  micro-publishing software could help me produce a draft of the book---postcards from, or impressions of,  Adelaide, rather than a history of the city?

So I began to start selecting the pictures that I'd been taking in and around the city of Adelaide over the last couple of years into a computer file;  and then started posting them into a Posterous blog. This process, I reasoned,  would then force me to start to think about, research, and  write some text to go  with the photos.

From this process would  a rough draft  or text would emerge and I would have have abody of body that could be worked on, and shaped,  into a book.  I could  to think of the DIY book as a book, as opposed to a portfolio of photographs, or a series of blog posts.  

The basic idea  of the book is that it is a  personal interpretation --my Adelaide,  as it were. This is the Adelaide that emerges out of  my urban exploration as a photographer walking its grid-like streets. The body is important here as I walk the streets, since it is the body that initially responds to the architecture, public mood,  urban light and the  flow of the street.

This approach has affinities to the New South Books series on Australian capital cities in which well-known writers reflect on their home town. So far we have  Peter Timms’s Hobart, Matthew Condon’s Brisbane, Delia Falconer’s Sydney,  Sophie Cunningam’s Melbourne and  Kerryn  Goldsworthy’s Adelaide. Books on Perth, Darwin and Canberra will follow in 2012. 

I haven't read any of these texts so I don't know how they've critically reflected on their hometowns. The exception is Goldsworthy’s Adelaide, which  rummages through the personal past of  her  lived life in  Adelaide.  This  review  of the text in the mainstream press doesn't really come to grips with what this book is doing. 

Stephanie Hester says that Goldsworthy's Adelaide is along the lines of: 

a palimpsest, or  a layering of sense memory , mood a layering of sense-memory, mood-memory, and the vivid recollection of images, emotions and events ... a text  in which  layers of history and myth and memory have been placed upon each other to form the most illustrative of “maps”. 

It is a literary vision of bodily memories  from which Goldsworthy constructs a complex map of narratives and sensibilities that lie beneath the simple geometry of Adelaide's urban grid; or the self-image of Adelaide as a  comfortable, small  provincal town with a friendly-at-home atmosphere. 

My Adelaide has its roots in Bowden, an old industrial suburb,  where I lived in an old working class cottage (now demolished)  when I first came to Adelaide from Melbourne. I converted the shed into a darkroom and I started taking photos in and around the area.

That  working class Bowden has gone.

My Adelaide also has its roots in Port Adelaide. I used to go down there with Fichte, my standard poodle, the Kombi and a large format camera. I was attracted by the wastelands on the edge of the city: 

Bodily memories, and the embodied knowledge emerging from my photowalks,   also provides a link to William Klein's photographic books about cities – New York, Rome, Moscow and Tokyo. These were filled with raw, grainy, black-and-white photographs that caught the energy and movement of modern urban life with scant regard for traditional composition.

The New York book---Life is Good & Good For You in New York: Trance Witness Revels.  (1956) is a  kind of impressionistic diary of Klein's wanderings on the streets of a squalid New York,  and  it is widely recognized in photographic culture for its  iconoclastic graphic design.